Evening – Day 16

Today started out with day 3 of running! I’m trying to take it slowly to get my muscles into gear. In the past when I’ve tried running, I enjoy it so much that I overdo it and then my calves are jacked up for days! So, I’m trying to patiently and consistently build up my stamina. I may up my time a few minutes tomorrow. I brought my bandana with me today so I could blow my nose and breath clearly. It was probably around 20 degrees, so it was definitely a challenge for my breathing. But, it was okay. I’m used to biking when it’s pretty cold, so it wasn’t a complete shock to my body.

I came home and made a kitchen sink smoothie. It wasn’t my best work, but I was just wanting to use up some greens and throw some fruit and nuts in there. I did the last of my Swiss chard, two smallish collard leaves, a frozen banana, some frozen mixed berries, hemp seeds, cacao nibs, and some tahini, with water. It tasted “healthy”, as Kegan stated. It fueled me up just fine. Since Kegan was off of work today, he drove me to work. What a treat!

I ate a repeat of last night’s dinner for lunch. I was so looking forward to it. It was the creamy millet and kale salad, and I ate it over half a potato with some hot sauce on it! Yummy! I had a cocoa beet kale cupcake for dessert. I’m glad I fueled up, because I had a busy day ahead of me! I work in retail as a make up artist, and Saturdays can test my patience. It was one person after another today that wanted make up done, and I just didn’t have the mental stamina to do it. Part of my frustration lately has to do with the fact that we’re remodeling our store right now. There is a massive wall that has been put up just a few feet away from our counter and things are squeezed really tightly together. I have no room to work and it stresses me out! Some days it’s harder to handle. Our department won’t be done until August, so I had better get used to it! I felt used and abused by the end of the day, so I was happy that Kegan also offered to pick me up. I think my mood swings can be related to hormones because…ahem, well, I’m getting close to that special time of the month…sorry. I also feel like my appetite has been a little out of control as a result of the aforementioned situation.

I made this awesome version of pad thai for dinner:

http://www.yumuniverse.com/2012/06/06/black-bean-noodle-pad-thai-with-yellow-squash-and-zucchini/

20130216-220622.jpg

It was intended to be prepared to debut my mung bean sprouts that I grew, and I hope I didn’t wait too long to eat them. They had little green flowers coming out of the bean part. I tasted them and they seemed fine. I sure hope I don’t die. I’m still weirded out by eating something I grew myself anyhow. I don’t exactly have a green thumb. I haven’t felt sick or anything, so we’ll see…

Back to the out of control appetite. I ate five heart cookies and another cupcake. Oh boy. I’ve got to break this post meal pattern. I’m going to try to stay out of the kitchen after dinner. It’s crazy how I can eat a whole delicious meal, but then I start foraging for sweets!

Well, this is all about self awareness, so hopefully I can learn something from it. Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

