Day 22 – What a DAY!

Well, I’m sorry to say this, but during a 30 day challenge, a woman is bound to experience her “cycle”…sorry to the two guys reading this. I don’t want to offend anybody by mentioning this, but at the same time feel compelled to mention how much this cycle affects thoughts, moods, appetites. Today started my cycle, and it hit at a chaotic day for me at work.

I started my morning by cooking up some comforting grains. I made YU’s “Cinnamon Toast Amaranth Cereal” for some comforting breakfast goodness:

http://www.yumuniverse.com/2010/11/08/cinnamon-toast-amaranth-quinoa-protein-power-cereal/

20130223-002443.jpg

I’m glad I had a good hearty breakfast, because I got a morning workout after chasing my bus this morning…which I should note, I missed. Yep…and I pretty much almost started crying…ran down the block to attempt a different route, and fortunately, succeeded. Whew. One hurdle out of the way; I was about to face many more at work.

So, as I mentioned, I started my cycle (sorry to keep putting it that way). I arrived at work, feeling a little sweaty and rushed, but I cleaned myself up, and prepared for a busy day. It was SO busy. All of my clients came in to see me…which is great, but I quickly became overwhelmed with the anxiety of not being able to help them at once! I didn’t get a chance to go to lunch until 3:00, and I was so wound up at that point. I had the last of my mustard greens and black eyed peas.

20130223-003046.jpg

It kind of looks like a swamp bowl, but it was so delicious. I ate the rest of my cocoa almond kale crunchers and I had some flour less black bean brownie. I kind of wanted to keep eating, because I was so far past hungry at that point. But, I had eaten a lot already and felt pretty full, and didn’t want to be in a complete coma when I had a few hours left to work after that.

The rest of the day left me feeling achy and exhausted…but it was a successful day at work, so it felt worth it. I drank a ton of water, and that really seemed to balance me.

Kegan picked me up at work, and I quickly whipped up the portobello dairy free macaroni:

http://www.yumuniverse.com/2012/06/21/dairy-free-gluten-freepepper-portobello-mushroom-macaroni/

20130223-003615.jpg

It was great over my peppery arugula which was starting to look a little sad in the fridge.

After that, Kegan and I enjoyed a beautiful evening walk to a close by restaurant for my friend’s birthday! It was lovely! I didn’t know about the menu options, so that’s why we opted to eat at home. I had two beers and some tostones (fried plantains), and was happy to squeeze in another walk back home. I LOVE walking, and it was pretty and peaceful with the fresh snow on the ground. Kegan and I spotted this randomness, so I had to snap a shot…

20130223-004004.jpg

One more day until my weekend! I’ve got to rest up for another crazy day in retail!

Leave a Reply

