Day 23 – Feeling So Efficient!

This morning, I woke up determined to make the quinoa kale sweet potato cakes before work:

http://www.yumuniverse.com/2010/12/17/black-quinoa-sweet-potato-kale-cakes/

I had thrown my sweet potato in the oven while I was in the kitchen making dinner last night, and I also chopped my kale while I was waiting for the water to boil. I’ve taught myself not to waste anytime in the kitchen. If I’m waiting for something, I’ll wash dishes of prep an ingredient for my next recipe. It’s become an indispensable part of my cooking. Since I had made the breakfast quinoa with amaranth, I thought I could use that to make the cakes. I threw all the ingredients into my food processor and…viola! Green paste! I made some patties and fried them up. While I was doing that, I enjoyed a bowl of my quinoa with maple syrup, cinnamon, coconut oil, apples, and pecans.

I was excited to be picked up for work this morning, it’s a real treat on Saturdays to get driven to work and picked up! I’ve been carpooling with my girlfriend, and it’s been lovely! Work started off great, busy and great sales! I made use of downtime by organizing my drawers and throwing away empty boxes that held the products that we sold. I made sure to drink lots of energizing water, and before I knew it, it was time for lunch! I was excited to eat my quinoa cakes!

20130223-201909.jpg

They did not disappoint! So delicious with a squeeze of lime and some avocado! I packed some carrots, and ate the last of my store bought kale chips. I enjoyed some green tea, and stopped there, even though I had packed other snacks for emergencies. I wanted to keep my energy level up for a busy afternoon…

I made it through the day, and now it’s my weekend! Well, not quite yet! I’m babysitting tonight for my friends’ baby! We’re catching up on Sesame street at this moment! My friend’s omni husband made me a delicious plant based meal! I sampled it, and after I put Frankie down, I’ll heat it up! It’s brown rice with a coconut milk garbanzo stew. It’s got spinach and sundried tomatoes with lemon! What a treat! I’m looking forward to unwinding tomorrow and enjoying a special day off with my husband! We’ll see what kitchen sink recipes come about from the last of my ingredients in the fridge before grocery shopping on Monday! I definitely want to make the amaranth poppers, and maybe some kale chips!

Leave a Reply

