Day 29 – Date Night!

I woke up this morning and made my Taffy Apple smoothie with collards because I thought I’d try something different. I was worried that I had ruined the smoothie, because it tasted a tad bitter. But, I kind of got used to it, and I liked it just fine! I felt like my energy level was good throughout the day. I made myself really conscious of drinking water today, and it always amazes me what a great feeling it gives me to do that! I feel more balanced, and I feel like it staves off intense hunger pangs when I do get hungry. I had my leftover creamy kale millet, which I just realized tastes like cheesy grits and greens! So good!

20130301-222819.jpg

Business was slow but steady, and I was excitedly anticipating a date with Kegan tonight! I took the train to meet him at a pizza place called Dimo’s. We had heard that it had fun vegan pizza options, and were excited to try it for the first time. We were naughty, and ordered some drunk food without being drunk!

20130301-223050.jpg

We ordered a BBQ Steak & Fries – mozzarella teese, Italian sausage seitan, Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce, and crinkle cut French fries; and the “Dimo Florentine” – chopped tomatoes, sautéed spinach, and artichokes on a marinara base, topped with mozzarella teese. They were a delicious treat. I have to thank Kegan for helping me to stop before I hit the downward spiral. I had three generous slices, and could have easily had another or two. Something alerted me that I COULD stop, and I told Kegan. I always know that point with “pig out food” when I should stop, but I usually ignore it and keep going. He said, “Wait a minute and just see if you could stop there.”

It was just the push I needed. (He doesn’t care how much I eat, he just has to listen to me complain about how I “should’ve stopped sooner” and “I don’t feel well”; so he’s just looking out for me). We sat and enjoyed each other’s company and talked excitedly about future projects around the apartment and such. I felt like I was in a perfect place, and hopefully I can better remember to be conscious of that food voice next time it talks to me.

I finally got those buckwheat chickpea nuggets in the oven, so I’m looking forward to enjoying them tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

